Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Emma Gorge

    May 12, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    An early morning following another sleepathon…. Good 10 hours!!!! Gosh how will we even function back in ‘normality’ without our extensive beauty sleeps!!!
    Finally slept like a log, it was nice a quiet and the bed is also levelled so we are not rolling anywhere. I was even cold during the night, I guess there is some coldness/dampness coming from the near by river.
    Today’s program was a trip to Emma Gorge. We left the main camp through the dreaded water crossing - managed to stall the car twice while crossing the water!
    It took about 45 min to get to the Emma Gorge Resort where the walk started from. The carpark was rather deserted - it guess it was too early….
    There were only two couples ahead of us. The walk started rather eventfully. In the first 500 metres I almost step on a snake 🐍, black, skinny and long thing that I did not even see next to my left foot. That was lucky phew, my closest encounter so far… this only to be followed by a rolled ankle, twisted knee and not so soft landing on the rocks…. Anyhoo, after that all was going smoothly 😉
    The walk was very ‘wobbly’ and took a lot of coordination and mountain goat skills, it took us forever, and we were just imaging Sally Ma. or Rusty going through it in no time 🐐 🐐…
    We reached the Emma Gorge while the second couple was just leaving. Believe it or not, we had it to ourselves! I braved it in the water and ‘freezing’ does not describe the feeling I had when I submerged…. Even my internal fat did not manage to block the coldness… it was beyond refreshing and perfect for my injured ankle and knee, I headed towards right side as supposedly there was meant to be some warm water coming in… sadly, I did not find it…..🤪 I have braved it to the water twice and then we just sat around and enjoyed the peaceful and beautiful scenery. In about an hour a small group of elderly man arrived so we left and headed down to Turquoise Pool - which was beautiful and somehow seemed a bit more inviting than Emma Gorge. The sun was shining through the clear water so I hopped in again - this was a completely different experience. The water was not very warm but at least I could feel my limbs…the fish were swimming everywhere around and I managed to hype up the experience so much that even Kat got it!
    We have enjoyed the pool for a good hour before people started arriving. We left when a small but very loud group of First Nation youngsters arrived. They started feeding the fish with their beef jerky and where just shouting and being ridiculous - yes, our tolerance level for non-sense is really low… 😇😇😇
    On the way back to the carpark we encountered heaps of groups, some even with speakers playing music… no comment….
    We had a refreshing ice coffee at the local establishment - absolute bargain - $9 for both!!! May have to go back…hehehe… kidding.
    We arrived back to El Questro, passed the water crossing with no hiccups this time and attended our domestic duties - clothes washing… the use of pretty new washing machines is free of charge. Kat opted for a shower while I parked it in the pub, enjoying a cold Matso’s Ginger Beer, writing this diary entry and observing helicopters landing and taking off. The main camp is the only place we have signal so as we are heading back to our ‘home’ now, good bye until next time
    Read more