Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    El Real de la Jara to Monesterio

    September 23, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Day 4 El Real de la Jara to Monesterio
    21km (5 Hours)

    Yesterday afternoon was spent relaxing on the sun terrace of the Albergue charting to the other pilgrims.
    A few exhausted peregrinos arrived late afternoon absolutely broken down by the heat. We all shared our food and fruit with them.
    It was an early night to get up at 6am. That was the intention until my Dutch room partner started snoring. I know that I have firm but my anti-snoring mouth guard seems to be working.😬 I hope....
    I was out the door for 6.30am and on the path. I had an elderly German lady and her son in front of me.
    The path was a gravel track and uninspiring. It meandered across the countryside. As it became dawn, I was almost halfway through today’s route. I walked a few kilometres with the lady and son. She set a quick pace and her life story was fascinating.
    I stopped at a service station for a quick breakfast but didn’t linger as there were lots of coach parties there.
    The path continued through aa eucalyptus forest tunnel between a minor road and a motorway. The last three kilometres was staggering along a dusty road into the town.
    I was first into the Albergue. The hospilardo could speak fairly good english but we conversed in simple Spanish for 30 mins. I really enjoyed it.
    The German lady and son arrived a hour later. She had fallen and badly cut her nose. I helped clean her up and she was taken to a doctor.
    That was my day on the Via de la Plata....
    Read more