Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Monesterio to Fuente de Cantos

    September 24, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    Day 5 Monesterio to Fuente de Cantos
    21km (5.25 hours)
    As it was Sunday yesterday, most shops were shut. I managed to get a meal but it really wasn’t very good.
    Spent the evening catching up with email etc. The big bonus was that I had a room to myself.
    I set off this morning in total darkness at 6.45am. It was still very warm (24C).
    The path quickly left the road onto a gravel side road and that was it until I reached this pueblo.
    As dawn rose, I met and walked with couple of Americans, I’ve got to know over the past few days.
    We quickly ate up the kilometres chatting away.
    With about 7 kilometres to go, they took a break and I carried on. The temperature was now 34C.
    I stopped about 2 kilometres out from the pueblo to change my socks. The distance sign put this walk into perspective.
    I joined a fellow Irishman, Rory. We carried on to the Albergue where we checked in. Both of us wanted a simple meal and luckily found a fantastic Casi Supermercado.
    Admin done, I am now chilling in a restored convent. Really strange building and only four peregrinos staying here.
    Tomorrow, I will walk to a large town called Zafra.
    That was my day on the Via de la Plata
    Read more