Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13 Santervas De Campo to Sahagun

    April 16 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Day 13 Santervas De Campos to Sahagun 20kms

    Last night, there were six peregrinos in the Albergue. Bepe, our hospilardo, continued to look after us. I prepared a communal meal for everyone and he prepared some dessert for us.
    After, María came from the village to give us a tour of the 12th century church and tell us about the village’s history.
    We were all up for breakfast at 7am and Bepe had prepared coffee and toast for us. The albergue is donation so you give what you can. He is a volunteer and does it because he also is a pilgrim.
    Chen’s and I set off as sun was rising. It was cold 4C but the pace soon warmed us up.
    We stopped in our last village at around 10.30am and hoped to find a bar open. We were unsuccessful.
    Whilst we waited in the main square, a van pulled up and the driver asked if we waiting for the albergue to open. We told him so but he still open up the albergue so we could get a stamp in our credential before going about working in the square.
    We finally arrived in Sahagun around midday. I collected my compostela for walking the Madrid Camino.
    Three of us met up and went for lunch before I had to say my farewell.
    I have thoroughly enjoyed walking this Camino. The scenery, wildlife, and the kindness of the other pilgrims and hospilardos has been amazing.
    Thank you all for your words of encouragement and support.
    The fact that small communities welcome pilgrims and provide basic accomodation is truly inspiring.
    I am now making my way back to Madrid for a few days to catch up with my good buddy Al Cox.
    That concludes my 12th Spanish Camino .
    Buen Camino
    Read more