Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Buenas noches (good evening)

    March 5, 2018 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    After morning yoga and breakfast I took a spanish lesson. We learned the vowels and some common phrases.

    The afternoon was a surfing lesson at Playa Grande. We took a taxi down to the main beach and then had to hike in about 20 minutes to the surf shack. After getting our rashguards and then learning the rules came practice on the beach with a surfboard drawn in the sand. We practiced paddling and then standing up on our beach drawn surfboards. Then into the water! I was a bit scared. The boards were attached to us with a velcro strap around our leg. The waves were about two feet and the water was past my waist so not deep. I swallowed a lot of salt water! I didn't quite get up but it was fun to try and I did paddle around on my stomach when I got tired of trying. I think I was scared about getting hit in the head with my board.

    The lesson was over when the tide started coming in. We were then all treated to a coconut to drink, fresh pineapple and bananas and then the coconuts were smashed for us to eat the flesh with a spoon made from the outer coconut.

    We saw monkeys! There were monkeys in the trees around us when we were eating and they were quite close.

    I wasn't able to take pictures as it was recommended not to bring your phone. The surf school took pictures and said they will be posted on facebook but I haven't seen them yet. Maybe tomorrow?
    Read more