Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Fracture en France

    June 2, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 10 °C

    While on a hire bike in St Helier 2 weeks ago my tyre clipped a low unseen kerb and sent me flying to land hard on my right shoulder . Long story short I have had plate and screw surgery to repaire complex fracture in my upper humerus . In Redon Hospital for 3 nights - back to bateau tomorrow. Have a nice young roommate who also fell off her bike and fractured arm . She speaks English .All good to continue as planned hopefully, with Susie and Scott arriving on Monday . Will wear an arm brace for 6 weeks so no dishes for me, and will try to eat out amap .. am quite comfortable. Redon is good place to be as hôpital 15 min walk from boat , have Boulanger and restaurant at harbour side , mini market close , and hardware a 10 minute bike ride for G. Weather continues to be dry and hot . A couple of bad photos today ! Probably time to stay home and be still, n'est-ce pas ?

    Had a lovely few days on Nantes Brest Canal - chatted to families picnicking by the pontoon while we waited for lock . Man complimented me on my beginner French so I explained I was learning with Alliance Française in NZ - Ah ! He said -I am an AF tutor all over the world; from Jordan to China to South America... he knew of their branches in Akl andChch. A nice time with them . He is to the right of photo on grass. Lots of pleasant interactions on the locks, docks etc .
    Read more