Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Teemu Time

    September 27, 2016 in Finland ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Hei ystäväni, nimeni on Teemu - Hello my friends, my name is Teemu. I am Finnish and a teddy bear and I am now travelling the world before I settle in a place called New Zealand. Courtney tells me they have a lot of honey there and Jamie says I can have as much as I want. YAY.

    Anyway, I have stolen the tablet while they sleep because I have a few wrongs to write (ha see what I did there).

    You will have seen by reading this blog that they keep referring to me as "lazy Teemu", "quiet Teemu" and "sad Teemu", I can assure you that I am none of these things except for maybe being a little Lazy because they like to carry me around like a little baby and I am not going to complain about that. I mean who would? My bear friends say this is pretty normal with the little humans but I guess my big humans don't want to grow up yet.

    So this morning I woke up to find myself being strangled by Courtney. She likes me to sleep with her even though Jamie always tries to steal me and they fight over me until Courtney eventually wins. I haven't been with them long but about 50% of the time I wake up on the floor after I've been thrown off the bed during the night and for the remaining 50% I am pushed under the covers. Again my bear friends tell me this is normal so I guess I will get used to it.

    Courtney and Jamie went to breakfast and brought me back some honey, that was nice. They then said I was allowed to go out with them today so I could say goodbye to my country. Man I was so excited or I was until Jamie told me he was putting me in his backpack but not to worry because it's just like hibernation. I don't think he likes being seen with me and that makes me a little sad. So, after a few tears, I spent a good hour or so in the darkness hearing muffled voices talking about how beautiful my country was.

    When i finally emerged from the darkness, I was confronted with a weird building.It had walls which looked like places I used to go to sleep in, Courtney tells me these are called rocks. Jamie said that she should know because she is something called a Geologist. Then she started talking about all the lines in the walls called veins and faults, and then I zoned out, Jamie whispered and told me that he zoned out too. Courtney just kept blabbering on and on about the rocks. Anyway, it turns out this crazy building was called Temp.aukio Kirkko - which was a church that lots of people seemed to love. There is a photo of me below taking it all in before I was plunged back into the darkness of Jamie's bag. At least I didn't have to walk I suppose.

    After a bit more time in the bag, we arrived at another church place. Courtney said it was called the Russian Orthodox Church and we had to be silent to be respectful. I think Courtney forgets that I am teddy bear and I can't talk. It was pretty nice and colourful but sadly there was no honey to be found and I was getting Hungry.

    We then walked down to the waterfront and I got to admire the view for the last time and Courtney said I could ride the turtles. I named my turtle Roger and it was the best part of my day. I got a few photos to remember it by.

    Our next stop was the movies to see Bridget Jones Baby after Jamie promised he would take Courtney on her birthday. Jamie said it was going to be horrible and I was a bit alarmed but then I saw Jamie laugh and I relaxed a bit because it wasn't as awful as Jamie made it out to be. Courtney found it funny and then Jamie pretended afterwards that he didn't like it, but I know the truth, because I saw him laugh - more than once. Courtney whispered to me that Jamie is a liar.

    We then went back to the hotel and Courtney and Jamie sat me down and told me that we were leaving tomorrow to go to a place called Russia. That sounds a bit scary, but I am assured that they have other teddy bears and more importantly honey. Courtney offered me some wine to calm my nerves, but i declined. Now wasn't the time to tell her that I am at AA. Courtney said that she would have my share and proceeded to drink most of the bottle. Jamie told her "Hey. I wanted some of that!" Courtney, just looked at him and responded, "My precious."

    I am a bit sad to leave my home, it is very beautiful here. I hope I can come back one day.
    Read more