Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 151

    Aaand back to Glacier country

    February 13, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Well last night was not great. Sleep was hard to come by, mostly due to the never ending buzz of mosquitos in the camper, which makes a change from sandflies. There must have been a cloud of them as Rob put the kitchen stuff in the boot because we honestly killed over twenty through the night and this morning. I swear they enjoy just hovering infront of your face or ringing in your ear before somehow disappearing and leaving you on edge. So we spent ages turning the roof and windows into a bug gravryard and then tried to sleep whilst sweltering under the blanket that we were using to cocoon ourselves against the bugs.

    Just as we were drifting off... Zzzzzzzzz... Another one!!!! It was gone 2 before we gave up. Then I needed to escape to the loo and let even more in on my return!

    Morning brought to light that we had failed misersbly in our efforts, at least another 10 had hidden themselves and were making themselves known. I have some juicy bites and they seem to have had a good meal, which is now all over my jumper which unfortunately was maimed in the frenzied efforts to grt rid of them. I didnt dare leave the camper this morning and so we just drove straight to Franz Josef once Rob had showered.

    A few more came out on the road and I think we got them all as I am now in the dark and can't hear any.

    It had rained basically all day today, it is the rainforest I guess. Absolutely heaved it down, clouds mingling with the tree tops and thunder and lightening to top it off which wad awesome!
    We rescheduled tomorrow's heli hike for Wed as rain is due again then went for lunch. We had a huge pizza to share that was delicous and then after more rain I went and enjoyed the rare delight of a very long shower whilst the site was pretty empty.

    Not much else to tell, just more rain, now for a movie and bed.
    Read more