Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 119

    Kaikōura & Helpx

    August 9, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 6 °C

    Deutsche Version in den Kommentaren
    Version française en commentaire

    🇬🇧 Kaikōura & Helpx
    After our wonderful time in Methven, we set off again to Christchurch. Lucas is doing help exchange there for two weeks and Emily travels a bit more.

    Lucas: On my side, I decided to Helpx for 2 weeks, I felt like I needed some time to recharge my batteries before travelling some more in the van. I found an homestay in the suburbs of Christchurch. I was so looking forward to sleep in a warm comfortable bed, and to be able to cook some nice food in a kitchen for a change! I am staying at an older lady's house that she recently built, after her first house was destroyed by the 2011 earthquake. The woman, Patricia, is really nice and talkative, and has loads of nice stories to share. I help around the house for about 2.5 hours a day, and I can stay there rent free. That leaves me plenty of time to relax and enjoy a heated home! The tasks I have to do are usually pretty straightforward but varied, such as gardening, cleaning, some data entry work on the computer...

    Emily: During that time, I'm continuing my journey a bit further with Bongo. I ended up in Kaikōura, a charming coastal town north of Christchurch, famous for its remarkable marine landscape. The Kaikōura Canyon, an underwater trench just off the coast, brings nutrient-rich waters to the surface, creating a vibrant ecosystem. This attracts diverse marine life such as whales, dolphins, seals, and seabirds, making Kaikōura a premier destination for whale watching. I didn't take a tour because after Lucas and I have explored the South Island clockwise, we'll come back here and watch whales and other creatures together. The unique geology of the region was further shaped by a significant earthquake in 2016, moving parts of the South Island more than five meters closer to the North Island and elevating sections of the coastline by eight meters.
    I had the chance to enjoy the breathtaking landscape and thriving marine world during my hike on Sunday. I walked 13 kilometers around the peninsula from the city center. The weather was wonderful, the sun was shining, it wasn't windy, and pleasantly warm for winter. To avoid walking on the road, I walked along the beach since it was low tide. However, I didn't notice the seal that was taking its midday nap. When I stood just a meter away from it, it roared at me. I got startled, and I could even see its sharp teeth. That's when I decided to flee and jumped back onto the road. Usually, you're supposed to keep a distance of ten meters from seals. I would have done that, but a gray seal on gray stones is hard to spot... I proceeded cautiously from there. Now, there are pathways available, so I don't have to walk on the road anymore. However, one of the "paths" goes through a field full of bulls, and I certainly won't go that way! As I walked along the edge of the field, I met a local with his two dogs. He told me that he went through that field yesterday and got attacked twice. Another man did the same and got seriously injured. Luckily, I chose the right path, or did I? Just as I was sending Lucas a message telling him what happened, I noticed a bull next to me, scratching itself against a bush. Panic rose within me. I continued calmly and slowly, and this time, I wasn't roared at. After two and a half hours, I'm back in the city center and taking a break. Tomorrow, I'll continue my journey...
    Read more