Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 93

    Oslo

    July 5, 2017 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Woke up and wanted to press snooze but because I had a skype date with mum and dad I got up - or rather sat up. Lol
    Strong evidence of my love.
    We chatted for 40 mins or so - it was sooooooo good to talk to them. I really love and miss them.
    I told them which rose product is for who so that's one thing down ✔️
    Once we hung up we had coco pops and brushed teeth before heading off to the Viking ship museum.
    It was a 5.5 km walk there, a lot of it was slightly downhill so I wasn't looking forward to the uphill walk back.
    It took what felt like a very long time to get there - we had to walk through this patch of farmland which was the best bit of the walk - there were so many geese and some Norwegian birds (black with white faces) sitting on the grass - at least 50.
    It was a lovely scenic route.
    Finally made it and we were so excited.
    It cost about $15 each.
    Inside were 3 differtn boats - 2 of them had been excellently preserved and fixed up - one was in the condition it was found - I think.
    The first boat at the entrance is the most decorative they have ever found and was used to bury 3 people I think - the 3 people's skeletons in the museum.
    The woodwork was spectacular! I loved the design of the whole boat.
    The second boat was pretty dodgy looking - it too was used for a burial. I thought they pushed people out to see and burnt them but apparently they also bury you with the boat - a lot of soil would have been needed to cover these ships! Lol
    It had a triangular structure that the bodies were in so the soil didn't collapse onto the people. The people were buried with animals, food, weapons etc. A similar system to the Egyptians in that they give you things to help you in the afterlife.
    It had a video presentation on the ceiling and walls which I really enjoyed.
    The 3rd boat was used on voyages and burial - its section was where the skeleton left were. One lady was approx 70-80years old which is way older than I was expecting. The other was around 50 - the bone people can't find a cause of death so they think it is possible she was sacrificed to keep the First Lady company. Lol
    There was also a section of things they found buried with the boats such as the silks, weapons, shields, carts etc.
    I found it all so interesting.
    There was a little section with stairs you could climb up and look into the boats from.
    Fantastic museum.
    Will was hungry so we went looking for food. The only place we could find was the cafe at another museum I wanted to go to but decided to skip because Will was dying and I didn't NEED to go to.
    We bought a drink for the journey home and it was delicious.
    The walk home felt longer - always does - the fun part is over.
    Will said something to me and you know how smells trigger memories? Well, he had Pupa Fisher breath.
    I checked like 5 times. It was bang on. I knew that smell.
    Even I think its weird.
    We had to keep stopping in our walk to get rocks out of our shoes.
    Will wanted a beak at the half way point so we sat for 10 minutes.

    Walk walk walk.
    We got some food in the 711 which included an awful, stale donut and a new Fanta flavor.
    Will stopped for a kebab. I had a bite and the meat was gross - probably horse rectum.
    We got into Randi's building no problems which is good because she is going away for the next 2 days for an internship and we have the place to ourselves.

    Will went and lay down - I watched friends with the girls - they both fell asleep but I had a blast laughing my head off. Will doesn't like friends. Yet another reason why I should dump him lol.
    Randi went off to a family members birthday dinner snd I cooked some pasta for me and Will. 🍝
    I got the first step wrong which Andrea and Will both found funny and yet shameful.
    You have to boil the water before you put the pasta in 🙄 ... they both know it's true and yet can't believe i dont have an oven or stove ... I wish I could cook but I don't even understand the basics 😔 never been taught 😔
    I'd like to say I cooked the pasta by myself but really without Andrea there would be no pasta lol
    Will didn't like the sauce but I didn't mind it. It was just a Dolmio bottle so wasn't expecting much anyway.
    After dinner we finished our card game from yesterday and then played the Norwegian version of go fish which I like better - you have to get all 4 not just pairs.
    Andrea went home, Randi panicked and I went to bed.
    Read more