Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 244

    Florence

    December 3, 2017 in Italy β‹… πŸŒ™ 4 Β°C

    Woke up on time AGAIN πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ
    Went to the start of the tour.

    First stop was basilica di Santa Maria Novella.
    It's the same green marble look as the big ass Cathedral. I can't actually remember it's significance. Whatever it was it didn't catch my interest. πŸ˜“
    The tour started with a lesson which was just about Florence and it's history.

    We went to a street and found the first ever Gucci store.

    There was a take away wine hole he showed us in the wall from an ancient shop - put your cup in and it will be filled haha

    There was a palace which is now an art thing. But he pointed out the optical illusion of the bricks to make it look taller (they get smaller the higher you go)

    Main Cathedral, bell tower and baptistry was cool. He just talked about how they built it.

    We went to the square with the statues. As I already knew David is fake but Hercules next to him is real and are the rest undercover.
    They are next to another palace - now town hall I think.

    We saw some other churches and marks on a wall showing where previous flood water had risen too - VERY HIGH.

    We saw another church with a square covered in Christmas markets. Overall I was surprised by how little Florence had to offer lol

    Tour ended.

    We went to a resturant for food then headed to the Uffizie museum because today was free entry. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ
    We saved 25€. πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    The line was massive!!!! All the way up the street but it was slowly moving so we joined.
    30 mins later we had gone through security and got out tickets - in we went.

    The main reason we wanted to come here was to see "the birth of Venus" by Botticelli.
    Which we did and it was great.
    I didn't recognize a single other painting πŸ˜‚
    Some were great others I don't know why they are there.
    There was a di Vinci so that was also cool. I didn't actually like it but hey, I saw it.
    The adoration of the magi I think?

    The roof was the real highlight to honest. It was SO VERY AWESOME. The wholeeee building was painted. It was the best bit by far.
    So many corridors and rooms I couldn't believe how big this place was and they only had seating in the corridor and not in front of the artwork - probably a technique to stop people dordling and manage the line out front.
    The windows had a nice view.

    Next we headed to the Pitti palace which housed the most important family of Florence.
    We wanted to see the garden but signage was shit so we couldn't find it - we saved another 26€ πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰
    The inside was amazing. I've seen a few palaces now but still constantly have my mind blown.
    They are beautiful 😭😭😭😭
    It was an art gallery in itself.
    We just walked through one of the floors (took ages) then headed home because we were freezing and our legs hurt. They were numb. Sooo cold 😨😨😨

    I fell asleep at the hostel until Will woke me to go get food.
    We got a take away pizza and ate at the hostel.

    My lips are so sore! They are so cracked and dry.

    I need to buy another beanie- my one doesn't cover my ears so it's bloody useless.

    My shoes reeeeek! I have to take them off in the bathroom then shove them quickly in a locker - they are so embarrassing.

    SO I AM SO EMBARRASSED πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Will left the room to go to the toilet - a person entered the room with what looked like a packet of dried mangoes. I thought it was Will so I asked so very loudly "OOOO WHAT YA GOT THERE?!"
    It wasn't Will.
    I was ignored.

    Everyone heard me get ignored.
    I then muttered I thought you were someone else but not sure if he heard.
    Read more