Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Brussels

    November 1, 2022 in Belgium ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    What a crap day hahahah
    Landed at 7am. Waited in the customs line for 40 mins. Seems practical to have 2 officers for an entire plane but sure. Got stamped 🕺🏻 then went and got our bags which did show up thank goodness.
    We decided to get the train rather than a taxi because it was peak hour so direct trains to central were possible.
    18€ so not bad. Definitely better than a taxi. Only the 2nd stop too. It was about a 900m walk so not too bad though our bags are not nearly as comfy as our backpacking backpacks. I’d like a hip buckle to help take some of the weight.
    Hotel was easy to find and in a great location.
    Love Brussels 😭😭😭😭
    It’s abandoned today though as it’s a public holiday. Probably our first of many. They loved their holidays haha.

    Arrived at hotel about 8:30 and couldn’t check in so we dumped our bags.
    All workers minus bag guy was a douche canoe. But even bag guy annoyed me when he wouldn’t give me the luggage ticket.
    No problem you giving it to Will (duh) but please don’t walk around me when I have my hand out trying to take it from you to give it to the man. Thanks 🙃
    It’s been very noticeable to me while he hasn’t bee able to talk how many people - all - will speak directly to him even when I’m the one trying to talk.
    For instance trying to check in “hello I’d like to check in”
    turns to Will “can you confirm your booking details?
    only for him to say “I don’t know I didn’t book them”
    THAT IS WHY I AM THE ONE TRYING TO TALK TO YOU OMG FUCK OFF.
    Small things all the time. 😪

    Anyway. Couldn’t check in so went for a walk. Streets are beautiful. Love the cobbles and store fronts, hanging flowers etc.
    Saw mannequin pis which was smaller than I remembered but also the grand place. LOVE.
    We ended up in maccas cause literally everything closed.
    Paying for the toilet BS has started again but I’ll take it over tipping haha.
    Cheeseburger meals don’t exists. Disaster.

    It was then a very very long 6 hour wait. We were dying. Checked around midday to see if room was ready. Same douche canoe acting like I’m bothering him said no rooms ready until 3.
    Then I watched as other people checked in… there is no early check in option online so feeling like I’m being lied to while absolutely exhausted isn’t fun.
    Went for another walk to pass time but we didn’t get far. We are done.
    We found a side section of the hotel with couches that we don’t know if we were actually allowed there but had a lay down anyway. Thankgoodness for that.

    Somehow made it to 3.
    It’s currently 9pm and I’m awake. Will stilll snoring. I’m in the bath and very hungry but don’t feel comfortable going for a walk by myself so I’m waiting for him.
    Read more