Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 74

    London

    December 26, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Woke up and about 15 minutes later the fire alarm went off, glad I was already awake or my heart would have given out, fire alarms send me over the edge for some reason which I suppose they are suppose to do. The noise sends adrenaline pumping around my body and I get the shakes which is so stupid and completely involuntary 😆😆😆
    And annoying. Calm down it’s just noise 😆😆😆
    It’s stopped but kept coming back on again so wasn’t sure if real or not. (Thats the big problem with the required practice evacuations, no one takes them seriously when real. 😆)
    So i went downstairs.
    Went down with 4 others - we are the top floor of course it so took a while to reach the bottom - we set off about 3 stair alarms along the way.

    Walked round the side of the building and asked reception - just confirming not real alarms and she looked at me like I was stupid.
    “It’s Monday, we test the alarms on Monday”
    And how and why would I know that ??

    Had to wait 10 mins in the foyer before the elevators were re activated to go back up. Was not walking the 47 flights back up.

    Read some of my book then headed to ‘Flat Iron’ to meet Bronte.

    We were early and put our name on the wait list (25 mins) then waited.
    She is an on time person. Hurray!
    We went to find Will some water then headed back and sat at the bar before our table was ready.
    Really good food. Not enough but really good!
    It’s a steak and sides, that’s it. But they have mastered it.
    We got heaps of sides and it added up very quickly but worth it.
    We then went to a bar in covent garden and had some beers. They argued a lot over whose beer is better.
    Bronte is an excellent conversationalist. Very easy to pick straight back up from where we left off.
    Will and Bronte complete opposite political spectrums and we nearly went into dangerous waters but I think they both did really well haha
    We talked for hours so missed any chance of seeing a matinee show like we had considered.
    Gave her big hugs bye.
    She is going to stay in London, is currently deciding whether to take a new job or not - more money but she doesn’t think recession proof and broke up with Chris so is having fun on the dating scene. Bea is well.

    Hung out at the hotel then went out for Ramen for dinner.
    Will liked his mine was garbage, but I’m proud I tried it haha. I was hoping my broth would be like mi goreng but it was bland meat water.
    Back home. Hope to finish my book tonight.

    Finished my book. 🕺🏻
    Read more