Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Look who I found!

    October 12, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    I ran into a plant today that I know very well back home in Colorado - Woolly Mullein. Growing alongside a walking trail we were on this afternoon, this Verbascum thapsus practically called out my name and said, “Hey stranger, good to see you here in my native continent. What are you doing here?” Considered an invasive plant species back in North America, this member of the Snapdragon (Scrophulariaceae) Family has a long history of being used to treat respiratory illnesses. As I walked away, it asked me to send its regards to its long lost siblings across the Atlantic. “Will do. Au revoir, “ I said, as a French couple walking up the trail saw me talking to a plant. They gave me a very wide berth as I went by them. I heard one say to the other, “Un autre touriste étrange venu des États-Unis!” (Another weird tourist from the United States!).Read more