Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31 - Astorga to Rabanal - 20km

    September 29, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Today was supposed to be somewhat easy (even though it was a steady climb up), but it was so hot and no shade that the last few kilometres were difficult.

    I started out before sunrise and the full moon was out. It was so huge in the sky, the pictures don’t do it justice. I had a couple yogurts before leaving but they weren’t sitting well in my stomach. I am used to leaving without any food and then eating an hour later. I had extra from yesterday, so decided to try and have it. Not again.

    The first town was about 5kms away and I stopped and had a toasted sandwich, not wonderful, but better than nothing. I had a nice visit with Caryn (from Steveston BC) and then I was off. There are quite a few Canadians on the camino at this time. I kept making stops in the towns every few kilometres. The scenery has definitely changed to mostly trees, just none of them were nearby or big enough to provide shade.

    When I arrived, I had immediately asked if they did laundry. It cost me 8 Euros, but well worth it. I was in no mood to wash and everything was dirty. So I gave her my clothes, and I went to the bar next door and had lunch. I sat with Lisa and Jenna joined us. We had a great time chatting and getting to know each other. Lisa is from Texas and Jenna is from North Carolina. After lunch, I wandered up into the town to find the spot where Joerg and I sat waiting for the albergue to open. I found it, and asked someone to take my picture there. When we were here in 2009, the monks were out of town, but they were here today so I was treated to Gregorian Chants and Vespers in the church. There was a pilgrims blessing but it wasn’t until 9:30pm so that was too late for me to wait up.

    I came back to the albergue just after the service and had another great time visiting with Jenna and Lisa. We sat outside chatting and laughing until 9pm. I had no time to write this blog, which is why you are getting it a day late.

    TTYL
    Read more