Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Out on the Town in the Isa

    March 8, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    A quietish few days, Friday I did a breakfast shift in the kitchen, which was much easier than I thought...winning! We finally got into town and bought a TV...winning! We also cooked at the van instead of having our weekend meals in the mess hall which felt a lot more normal. Shaun has been cooking up a storm in the air fryer and BBQ.

    Saturday we were invited out to the club with some coworkers who are born and bred Mt Isa, we had a great time hearing all about their hunting trips and eating kangaroo tail. They have invited us out for a camping trip when we all have the same time off...sounds like a plan. I love learning about Indigenous culture, and Mt Isa is a great place to learn. The Buff Club felt like ATW in Bundy, we are even members now!

    Sunday was a lazy day, I met a frog, and lots of cows who frequent the park. I tried to feed a cow, but it squared me up, so I took off. There is even a strange chicken named Gilmartin who crows like a rooster and follows me around when I'm cleaning rooms lol

    Shaun made himself a redclaw trap, and had out it in the river behind our van, lets see if we catch anything??? Apparently you can't eat anything from the river as it flows through town and has lead in it from the mines. We can't even drink the water here, why do we destroy our beautiful country????

    Hopefully the cruiser parts come this week and we are mobile again, I've got a huge list of places to go around Mt Isa and can't wait to tick them all off.

    Ally and Shaun
    Read more