Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Fake it til you pee

    January 1, 2020 in Hungary ⋅ 🌙 1 °C

    We stood in the street for midnight on NYE, to be specific, outside a concert hall (pictured in daylight in the last shot).

    The Hungarian approach to celebrating this seems to be either go and see a classical concert or sell any drunk bastard a truckload of fireworks and let them set them off, willy nilly, in the street, and bugger safety. Very entertaining but I'm sure someone has lost a finger.

    At 12 the concert hall had intermission so the very fancy attendees could stream outside, champagne in hand, to watch the festivities. I took the opportunity to try to blend in and sneak inside to use the loo and have a poke around. Some ladies spoke quite a lot of friendly Hungarian to me in the toilet queue which I did my best to respond to confidently to so as not to blow my cover. Some well placed eyebrow raising and sympathetic nods got me through. I got asked to take my seat in the concert hall but decided not to push my luck. Success.
    Read more