Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Halfway point stocktake

    April 12 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    SJPP to Santiago de Compostela is hard to nail down as a distance, surprisingly, everyone has a different number but it's usually around the 780km mark. This is just the trail, obviously, the wandering around after the day is done is extra.

    So I reckon this 390km to go mark in Terradillos de los Templarios (named after the Knights Templar) will do as a mid point.

    Some quick stats:

    Days on Camino: 18
    Days walking: 16
    Rest days: 2 (Pamplona and Burgos)
    Distance walked: 498km, 70,1175 steps
    Average daily cost: €31.70/$51 (albergue €11.70/$18.70, food and drink €20/$32)
    Blisters: 2, very minor, both on toe tips
    Shoe status: minor wear on inside heels
    Cats pat: 12

    I've walked nearly 500km? But I'm so tiny! Will you please note in this photo my ingenious hands free snack device, such as you might see attached to a horse or another barnyard animal. I've put a bag of chips in it. Immensely satisfying, tomorrow I might try suspending a piece of cake on a fishing rod just out of reach.

    I mean all this is to assume I'm actually doing the Camino. Keen eyes will have noted the length of this trip is 49 days, imagine if I was smashing out a Survivor season instead and just doing a phenomenal job of covering my tracks? We may never know.
    Read more