Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    New York At Last!

    August 31, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 77 °F

    I zigzagged all over Cleveland yesterday hitting Harley dealerships. Then I shot up to Erie, Pennsylvania, where I spent the night. Not a lot of miles, but all of it suburbia and city, so my clutch hand was ready to call it a day.

    But before I hit the hotel, I swung by Presque Isle State Park to take a picture of Lake Erie. So beautiful.

    This morning, I wound up in New York before I realized it. Again, back roads don't always have border signs; you just suddenly see a change in the street signs, particularly the state highway signs.

    I wound up on part of the New York Amish Trail, which was evident by all the buggies and horse poo on the road 💩☹️. You can't always dodge it all, so I may have to wash the bike soon. It was neat to see the Amish homes, farms, and craft buildings. Lots of furniture making in the area. I know nothing of the religion--other than what they taught Harrison Ford in "Witness"--but I appreciate their ability to maintain a lifestyle of simplicity in a nation and world that focuses on material wealth.

    I only hit two dealerships this morning, Jamestown and Buffalo (Buf pic tomorrow). After Jamestown, I hit a detour for a bridge out that put me on a gravel road for about 2.5 miles. Big rocks I tried to dodge and must have done well because I don't have a flat. A washboard ride the whole way, too. Ugh. No more of that, please, TomTom.

    I'm now eating lunch at Athena's, a Greek family restaurant. Gyros meat with tzatziki sauce served with eggs and home fries. More of that, please, thank you!

    Day 30 mileage: 237.6 (total 7181.1)
    Read more