Satellite
Show on map
  • Maintenance Day...Again

    July 30, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 75 °F

    Today was pretty good. This morning I hightailed it 175 miles to Northwoods HD in Wisconsin so they could troubleshoot my electrical issue, tail light, and front brakes. They were absolutely fantastic!

    The tail light was just a loose wire under the seat; they didn't charge me separately for that.

    The front brakes, which I've had THREE dealerships look at over the past two months who all said the brakes were fine, were making noise because the pads were completely gone. Metal on rotor. Aarrrgghh! But they installed new pads and no noise now. Great!

    The accessories fault/short took them about 3 hours of labor, but they finally figured it out. The Body Control Module (BCM) is fried. It's essentially the bike's brain and does a whole gambit of things, like what I've been experiencing: ON/OFF/ACC modes; bike doesn't power on or turn off when I flip the power switch; and ABS controls (which I tried to activate today and couldn't).

    Unfortunately, they didn't have the BCM in stock, but they tracked one down for me at Black Magic HD in North Dakota 😁. So, after $500 and borrowing the service truck to grab lunch*, I packed up and headed towards Fargo, ND.

    * The service manager who loaned me the truck said he would loan me a bike but he was afraid I'd put 2,000 miles on it before I came back, so I got the truck 🤣🤣🤣. They were pretty impressed with my >120,000 mileage on a Street Bob 🤣.

    What a huge difference in the weather! I started in my heated gear and gloves in about 50°F and damp. By the time I left Northwoods HD, I could've gone in just a t-shirt and jeans. Even right now it's 73°F!

    I'm only about 85 miles from the Fargo HD, where I planned to spend the night, but there's a decent storm rolling straight at me. So, I decided to stop early and set up before the rain hit. I found a really cool rest area (I guess it is anyway), and I hope no one runs me off. My tent is way better than $80 in a 1-star fleabag motel down the street! Winning!!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 141 mileage: 488.7 (total 5005.7 + 24568.7)
    HD Dealerships: 1 (total 256)
    National Parks: 0 (total 46 in 26 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 8 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more