Satellite
Show on map
  • Gatwick to Calgary

    July 10, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Having successfully dismantled and packed my bike with all of my gear into a cardboard box, I set off to the airport to catch my flight to Calgary, Canada., to attempt to cycle The Great Divide, 2800 miles over mountain tracks, unaided and solo. With an equal amount of excitement and trepidation I am both nervous and terrified about this adventure that has come around quickly. It seems like all the months of planning and preparation are now for real. The Visa applications, training sessions, planned routes, tents, kit, food, knowledge, transport, excel spreadsheets……the preparation has been immense. Tonight, I am staying at Gatwick airport, so I am ready for my flight tomorrow morning. In 24 hours I will be (hopefully) unpacking my bike and shopping for essentials in Banff, a bucket list place to visit for me. Things I couldn’t take with me on the plane that I need are; bear spray, camping gas, bear lines, lighters, and food. I have read as many forums as I can, books and trained and cycled miles with my bike fully loaded, (and not), but only when I set off on the 13th will I know how prepared I really am. I suspect there are many things that I have forgotten and many things I will be pleased I considered. Until then I will set my alarm and enjoy my last night in a hotel room.Read more