Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Waipu Cave

    November 4, 2015 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 26 °C

    A very wet morning but it didn't really matter because I was going to do a bit caving!
    But first I had do drive for 2h from the west coast back to the highway.
    The Cave itself was pretty amazing. Just nothing there really Already after 20m it starts that you can sport gloworms. And as I made the little scary way through the 175m to the end. Where I put of my touch and the darkness surrounded me. I saw millions of worms glowing in the dark! It just looked like the stars on the night sky.

    Heute wurde ich mit Regen geweckt, was aber weiter nicht schlimm war, da ich ja eh zu den “Waipu Cave“ wollte.
    Dort kann einfach alleine reingehen und die 175m lange Höhle erforschen! Eine Lampe ist jedoch sehr zu empfehlen da es nach ein paar Metern stockdunkel wird. Als ich so meinen weg durch die Dunkelheit finde, kommen langsam mehr und mehr Glühwürmchen zum anschein.
    Am Ende angekommen und kopflampe ausgemacht, erinnerte es doch sehr an die Millionen Sterne am Nachthimmel! Ein sehr cooles Erlebnis.
    Read more