Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    The long unwindy road and. None nuns

    September 14, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Two nights ago we opted to stay at Carrion de los Condes at the monastery/nunnery???
    We were told there were nuns who will have a song song with us. We arrived early and waited outside to be let in with a pile of other tired pilgrims. At 5 30 we were to meet to discuss our Camino experience. We arrived and there was not a nun in sight, none nuns! Bit disappointed to not do a re-enactment of sister act, no Whoopi Goldberg nuns anywhere.
    The volunteers went through everyone's feeling about the Camino. Why are we all here?
    There was also a pilgrims mass where we were each blessed and given a paper 🌟 to light our way to Santiago.
    The next day was a tough one to Calzadilla de la Cueza, a virtual gravel desert with no trees, no shade, no bars, no coffee for 17klms. Well I have to tell you I found it pretty tough. It felt like 30klms of hell and I even had a little cry when I could not see a town each time I got to the top of a little hill.
    "there's not town in sight", I wailed. 😩
    Mark cheered me up with a cuddle and put Queen on loud to get us into a walking rhythm. A small breeze blew up to push us along too.
    Eventually the town(a, clutch of buildings) appeared and we could rest. I celebrated with a large glass of delicious sangria, yummmmm! 😲 🍷
    I realised something special about this experience,
    A few days back I had received a thought for the day in a little tiny church in Hontanas.
    "You can't appreciate the blessings without the struggle"
    Well that was my day that day, a struggle and the next morning(today) a day of joy, feeling blessed to walk in a cooler weather, interesting vistas and a nice breeze which made it easy to arrive to a beautiful albergue in San Nicholas del Real Camino. And I think we had a coffee in every town we went through. 😊
    Read more