Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Rest day in Leon

    September 17, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Yesterday we walked 24 klms along the old Roman road instead of along the highway from Sahagún to Mansilla de los Mulas.
    If you know yer Román roads then you know they are made up of layers and layers of rocks. So it made for a bumpy and slow walk. We had to stop a few times when there was shade (hardly any on the way) and give the feet an airing, it helps to prevent blisters forming. Take boots and both sets of socks off.
    We decided to bus 🚍 the last few clicks into León as we knew it was just car dealerships and factories for another 18klms ,no guilt felt whatsoever. There are pilgrims who walk every single kilometre and feel like they have cheated if they don't, that's their choice, I chose the bus and we booked a hotel for a rest day. The bliss of real sheets a double bed, towels and our own shower.🚿
    León seems like a nice city, it has a nice vibe. Today after a nights sleep we are chilling with a late breakfast, watching the people go by and not planning on doing too much except pottering.
    We have now walked 461 k's which I can hardly believe so we are over the halfway stage, we plan to walk to finisterre(the ocean) which is another 100 so that will be 900 if we can do it all. That's like walking to Sydney from Brisbane, wow. 😲
    Things I've noticed are
    Spanish don't do tea, no kettle and teabags in hotels and hardly a kettle anywhere to be found. I miss tea! 🥤
    They eat a Lot of bread, I love bread but I am getting a bit fed up of it. 🥪
    Europeans in general smoke a lot. 🚭
    Older guys go to the local bar for a few drinks and play cards or dominoes with their friends in the afternoon, I thought that seemed like a nice thing. 🍻
    Spanish ladies can be feisty. 🔥
    Spanish ladies dress beautifully on the whole, lovely shoes and outfits. I have often felt a bit underdressed in my Pilgrim attire that I wear everyday.
    Some days I have even had to commit fashion crime and wear socks with sandals to protect my sore blistered feet. 👡
    Yes you can walk on blisters!
    It's amazing how little you actually need to live.
    I have 2 outfits and 2 sets of socks to wear.
    1pr sandals 1 pr boots. 👢
    My whole pack weighs less than 6 kilos now as I've gotten rid of useless items like a swimming costume, evening top and things I've forgotten about.
    Happiness doesn't require stuff 🧐
    So till next time, adiós amigos 👨‍❤️‍👨
    Read more