Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Lofoten - Haukland & Uttakleiv Beaches

    September 19, 2021 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Our goal was Uttakleiv beach which would‘ve been our number one pick for the night if it wouldn’t be facing the wrong direction…
    Just 5min into the drive a huuuge viking building rose up on the hillside - the viking museum. …of course I had to crack out the drone… 😬
    A battery pack later we got back on the road to our goal the Uttakleiv beach…
    Not fully there yet another magnificent beach showed up around the corner and I said: „I am sorry I will have to fly the drone here and get a picture.“ (a sentence I would use five more times that day…)
    I checked the map and the name Haukland was not unfamiliar - I had read it in the „To See“ lists, but it still came as a nice surprise. Obviously it had turquoise blue water, sandy beaches, impressive mountain backdrops and Fall colors… BUT this one had a stream of sweet water winding it’s way down the sand into the ocean.
    Not crowded, but frequented by many fellow travelers carrying lenses and also the first other drones we saw.
    I got a couple of shots, also experimenting with using the drone for selfies (an idea Jeanette had 👍🏽🙌🏾) - results see below.
    Driving there the Lofoten magnificence started to work its magic again. After several: „Wow, look at that blue ocean!“ and „Did you see that white beach?“ Jeanette was getting fed up and we skipped the third beach on plan for that morning (…maybe she was just afraid I would make her wait for the pictures AND the recharging of the battery packs in between… 🤫)
    Read more