Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 12

    Snowstorm

    23 oktober 2022, Förenta staterna ⋅ 🌙 0 °C

    Up early and offered to take Andrew to Breakfast before leaving. He is a naturopathic doctor who founded and runs Global Outreach Doctors. He drove me through the small village of Galisteo and then went to Cafe Fina. Had great conversation and a delicious pesto omelette and coffee. Back at his ranch, I said goodbye to the horses and ventured towards the horseback riding I had booked at Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu. Sadly, when I was half hour away, they called to cancel due to weather. It was starting to drizzle.
    I stopped at the O’Keoffe Welcome centre but it was closed… so I wandered around the cafe & gallery, grabbed a coffee to go (bought a Christmas ornament) and back in the car.
    The drive through the mountains was beautiful but I had close to an hour of snow on my drive. Once I hit Colorado the landscape changed and it was horses and ranches everywhere. I saw dead deer every few miles, and lots of deer and wild turkey on the road side.
    I saw and neat peak on a mountain and decided to explore. Sadly, chimney peak was also closed.
    I stopped in Pagosa Springs and contemplated dipping into the free springs beside the river. However, it was really cold, no one else was in the springs and the smell of sulphur was repugnant!
    I continued on to Durgango with a quick stop for coffee, and found the CouchSurfing home before dark. Daudi was not home, but left the door open. The house sits on the rim of a valley and small airport.
    Once he came home we enjoyed some curry and interesting conversation. He is the founder and president of Agile Space Industries, and grew up in Kenya. He also has a cat named Marco.
    My room is upstairs and I’ll be here for a few days!
    Läs mer