Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Pre Valentines

    February 13 in Martinique ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Up and about this morning and saw Ashlynn’s photos of her getting ready to deliver the cherry berries on a cloud to all her friends. A few days ago I mentioned to Brian that I was missing all my friends and it was the downside to boat life. Inspired by Ashlynn I took the morning to sit in the V-berth and write a Valentines Day Card to Brian ~ Had fun coming up with names to describe him on the envelop. Also pre wrote notes to a bunch of friends that I will send out early tomorrow to convey how special they are to me, even when I am not around or in contact. It is amazing how gratitude, or even thinking about people I love, puts me in such good spirits. I was happy all day, although Brian was not feeling the same… still worried about his finger and frustrated with his art and the boat work.
    I dabbled some with work and then switched course and grabbed the chisel and hammer and started to remove all the bungs on the window frames. They came out easy, and I got better at doing it, although some had a lot of epoxy so it took ok big chunks of wood and varnish.
    There was a Salty Dawgs gathering at the dingy dock in Fort-de-France, so we decided to be social and join. It is red day at the Carnivale but I had none. We headed to Trois Ilet to catch the ferry over. We didn’t think we would get on as the line was SO long, but we made it, and off we went on this high powered fast boat, across the bay. We arrived slightly early and while waiting and looking for the Dawgs, a really intoxicated man covered in molasses was trying to engage with use. Finally we saw Bab’s and Tim — and met their friends Danata and Neil. Neil is an Emerg Doc so he took a quick look at Brian’s hand and said it was healing fine…. A relief as it still looks mangled.
    We chatted with Nikki and Barry, Tim, Sandy and Todd, Kathy and a few others before wandering off to glimpse at Carnivale and the loud music and noise. We didn’t stay long and headed back to the ferry line. It was really long and we waited 60-90min to catch the ferry back. It was a nice ride and actually a nice time standing in line and chatting. Brian is so knowledgeable about art and literature and has read thousands of books, so he always has a story to tell. On the ferry ride to FDF he was talking about trying to get the depth correct on his s etch of the boat and women beside us, and how to create more fore- shortening.
    We were exhausted from all the noise so had a quick bite to eat and I actually fell asleep in the chair.
    Read more