Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Bungs and Bees

    February 14 in Martinique ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤️
    I sent out all my Valentines and gave a nice card to Brian in the morning. We had our usual coffee and writing and then lounged about, responding to friends messages in the morning.
    I did some work on the computer for a few hours and also sanded down the bung holes on 4 of the 8 window frames, to prep them for stain, sealer and gloss.
    Brian made calls, trying to reach Garmin about the AIS and get replacement parts for the BBQ. He also did some sketching of the boat beside us.
    We decided to go explore Trois Ilets and find a spot where Brian could do a pastel. He usually likes to do it from the dingy, but couldn’t find a suitable place so we went to shore and walked around untill a scene caught his eye. He perched on a inconspicuous veranda and worked his magic while I sat on the curb and read. Carnival is still happening and today was black and while day, with lots of people and noise buzzing about. After he finished we walked further, stopped at a bakery and had a treat (I had macarons and he an almond croissant).
    We climbed back down to the dingy, amidst the people in line for the ferry, heading to Carnival, and started back towards Lorena. Brian encouraged me to drive the tender, so I did so…. It’s been awhile since I used a tiller.
    Rod Morris (#4 & 26) are the names of the batteries on the boat that are check often, and are usually around 20-40%. They don’t seem to charge when the engine runs, so the generator has to be running to charge them. We usually run it in the morning, and then while preparing supper. Tonight was Salmon (on the stovetop as BBQ is outta commission), Okra and French cheese.
    I returned to work for a couple hours while Brian continued sketching, talked to his son Ian (about his wedding, his AI paper and life as a lawyer), and his former nanny (who lived in his parents home till they died), Anita. It is always fun to listen to him chat with Anita in Spanish. They typically talk every Sunday but he called to wish her Happy Valentines Day.
    After I shut down the computer, I needed to get some air, as the rain had started earlier and we closed the hatches, so the cabin was getting stuffy. I went to the bow to admire the night view. As I sat down I felt a sharp pain growing in my foot and couldn’t understand why. Brian was coming to join me and said I had been stung, and helped me inside to a bright light. He got the tweezers and pulled out the stinger. We rinsed the area and put a cold compress on. Shortly after we headed to bed and read some more Shakespeare, trying to finish this play ….. saucy and audacious eloquence.
    Read more