Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Doris does Gluten Free

    March 4 in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    We got up and had our usual routine and then headed into town after lowering the dingy, and making several pit stops to see people along the way. There are a few people from Saint John here (Krista Neyjen - ?) and the boat Stop Know at Rodney Bay Marina is owned by John Falcon (Castle Rose). We also chatted with another Canadian but from Toronto but with ties to the Maritime’s, Duene (Cindy and Kevin), the Dove (a couple that she is polish and he is Italian/English)…. Brian enjoyed making the rounds. We also chatted with Shuti, the catamaran in front of us from Germany and invited Ole and Monica over for Sundowner at 5pm.
    The customs and immigration was going to take awhile so Brian released me to explore Port Elizabeth. I walked to Doris’ and found tons of Gluten Free foods and other items (Maple Syrup, figs, cottage cheese) that haven’t been available elsewhere in the Caribbean. Lots of Pamela’s GF items…. I stocked up the backpack and went back to the customs building but Brian was still in line so I walked around more and went to Threadworks, a social enterprise on the island that trains islanders to see, gives them a job and sells the clothing. I didn’t by anything but was nice to chat.
    I returned and Brian was patiently waiting for me (although a bird made friends with his tee shirt). We headed to Peelers Marine store, Venture Hardware Store and Caribbean Wood, looking for better varnish stripper and a certain size Allen key. We were unsuccessful on both fronts, although we found a possible alternative to teak for the aft cabin. We also bought some fruit from various vendors and are now restocked. Plus we had a chance to sample soursop so I am excited to try ours tomorrow!
    Back on the boat and I was supposed to have a call at 1pm, but Richard cancelled as he was sick. So I did some work and and tried to get this blog up to date! There was a boat that came by to tell us all about the BushBar and give us a flyer. A young man and his girlfriend own it.
    Melanie has been making plans for the cruise in October that we booked in December/ January. Today she booked her tickets and I followed suit, although I will meet her in Montreal and fly from Barcelona to Nicaragua (and then to Virginia).
    I made some food for the sundowner and Mo and Ole came over for a few hours… great conversations! They left and we had pork chops and salad, and I passed out on the chair. We went to bed and tried reading English but I was falling asleep. I love reading together but as soon as I get to the bed at night, the off button gets switched and I just fall asleep 💤.
    Read more