Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Finally landed

    March 23, 2023 in New Zealand

    I've never been so happy to get off a plane. 15 hours! Also, I've never eaten so much on a flight. There was dinner about an hour after take-off, a snack somewhere in the middle of the flight, and breakfast about 2 hours before we landed. For airplane food, it wasn't half bad. Somehow, I selected a vegan meal. 🤦‍♀️
    Dinner ended up being spinach saag, balsmati rice, dinner roll, gluten-free cookie, and pita chips and hummus.
    The snack was a veggie Stromboli and mango sorbet. (Everyone got this.)
    Breakfast was oatmeal and quinoa topped with blueberries and mango. Interesting combo, but it was pretty tasty.
    I'm full. If I had realized how much I food I was going to be served, I would have eaten differently before I left the States.

    Sleep
    I think I got some decent hours of sleep, but sleeping on an airplane isn't all that great. There was actually decent leg room. My tailbone is sore, so getting up occasionally was beneficial. I also wore my "blood pressure" cuffs on my legs the last half of the flight. What a godsend and relief they were. This was in addition to my compression socks that I always wear.
    Read more