Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 99

    The finishing line

    8 augustus 2023, Canada ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    ...and before I knew it the skyscraper-filled cityscape of Vancouver was on the horizon and my journey was at an end.

    ...

    I was filled with an odd nothingness.

    There were never going to be fanfares and ribbons, and that suited me fine, but I think I had an expectation that there might be a more tangible conclusion; something that would feel more final than simply hoicking my leg over and off Perry for the last time.

    5432 miles is pretty tangible, though, to be fair - my bum can certainly testify to the 464 hours in the saddle. Not quite the 7112 miles that were planned, but a reasonable proportion that I'm happy with.

    There probably aren't enough superlatives to describe the full experience, so suffice to say, it's been the best thing I've ever done.

    Huge thanks for following, and to those that have posted words of encouragment - it helped keep me spinning those cranks far more than I ever expected. Extra special thanks to all those amazingly kind and generous people who at the end of the day offered me somewhere to sleep, a hot meal, or a much-needed cold beer.

    ...

    Damage report:
    3 chains
    1 cassette
    1 derailleur
    2 water bottles
    1 inflatable mattress
    2 sets of disk brakes
    1 inflatable pillow
    1 solar panel
    1 pair SPD cycle trainers
    1 tent
    2 knees

    Lost stuff:
    Good food hygiene practices

    Lessons Learnt:
    Pack less
    Meer informatie