Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Southward Bound

    July 12, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    165km Danske 🚗 ... 🎶on the road again 🎶

    An emotional departure from Bodø, it's been a great pivotal point for this trip 🇲🇵

    Even having plotted the route, it feels more flexible knowing I have time to make detours, when inspiration strikes💡

    With that in mind, I basically looked at the map and spotted a long beach on the coast of an island and headed that way 🌊

    And yes Langsanden translates as long sands which was indeed perfect, having wandered along and noticed the sand blowing due to the strong breeze .... figured I had better find a higher point to eat my lunch 🪨

    Spent a couple of hours enjoying the cloudy breezy day full stop writing some postcards and enjoying my sand free lunch 📮

    'Skulpturlandskap' on a sign post, definitely gets my attention. However I did have to pause, and check how far it was from the sign post. The Forgotten Town by a Swedish artist was intriguing - and had amazing views https://skulpturlandskap.no/kunstverkene/den-gl…

    Time for some food and again, Google came to the rescue and found me a very highly rated Italian restaurant. Where once more I had a very tasty plated kebab, this time chicken with delicious fries and a token piece of salad 🥗 All enjoyed with another great view 🏔️

    Time to find a place for the night, a small lake at the end of a gravel road. With wonderful signs inviting me to borrow a canoe, free gratis - needless to say I did not take up this offer 🛶
    Read more