Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    A Luxurious Experience

    July 4, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ 🌬 12 °C

    This has been an absolutely brilliant and fantastic adventure in two wonderful countries but there is no doubt my poor body is feeling the strain. I've carried camera equipment on and off boats and planes, I have hiked over a variety of terrain and all, it seems, with the minimum of sleep. 😂 Now it's time for a little luxury.

    The Blue Lagoon is a thermal spa where its waters come from the hot rocks 2000m below ground and is 38c when it enters the pool. It's not cheap to visit here but when you walk into the water the feeling you get makes it worth every item of whatever currency you use. I used Visa. 😂

    This is a popular attraction and is often the last thing travellers do before leaving Iceland. It is only about half an hour from the airport but interestingly, it is only about twenty minutes or so from where the last volcanic eruption occurred recently. I'd love to have seen that but it has stopped now ... for a while. [Edit: it erupted again less than a week after I got home. So annoying!]

    This is a lovely place and your first drink is free from the pool bar (photo 4) and I had a glass of sparkling wine. You must book in advance to get a time slot but once in you can stay as long as you like and I stayed a little under three hours. My time slot was 3pm.

    Afterwards I took a walk around the turquoise pools (last two photos) outside the complex then left to find my campsite for tonight. I needed to find somewhere to eat too, sort the van out and pack. I'd rather be in that lovely warm water though. 😁

    Strangely, this never fixed my sunburned nose though. 😓🙄 😂
    Read more