Satellite
Show on map
  • Too fancy for me

    December 18, 2021 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I check in at Barry's Cottages/Campsite as the only guest. Pompous place, very fancy and well-suited for an afternoon's power nap under a shady palm bush. Barry is an engineer from Canada and designed all houses and cottages himself. They are built to perfection and emit their creator's passion.

    At 6 I wake up and visit the nice beach with my coffee cup in hand. By strange yells and shoutings I am attracted to the nearby palm trees. "Baboons in the trees?" Barry greats me. Fascinatedly I watch an armada of guys climbing up the palms and harvesting luxurious coconuts. They celebrate some kind of yells while descending each tree. Wow, they are awesome!!

    At 8 I continue via the ferry over Pangani river to Tanga for lunch at Hashtag Cafe. This is beyond street food. Also too fancy for me.
    Read more