Satellite
Show on map
  • Finally Saadani!

    December 16, 2021 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    My previous two attempts to enter Saadani national park were unsuccessful because the southern access road was not usable due to a broken bridge. This time I finally make it into the park! Still, the southern access sucks because of huge, newly established sugar cane plantations left and right. With recent rains the overused road turned into a mud bath. I pass two overturned trucks and slide my way through.

    At the entrance gate I meet Abdelhadi, a cyclist from Morocco. He is travelling for 3.5 years now, went down all the western route to South Africa, came up here and was even attacked by an elephant in Botswana. Here the ranger does not allow him to cross Saadani on bicycle because of dangerous animals in the park, haha. I would give him a lift with my car because he is not interested in animals anymore 😋 and just wants to exit through the northern gate, but the authority wants to charge him full entrance fees for that. Stupid. Sadly we part again as he finds a lift back to direction of Bagamoyo where he just came from through all the mud with his muscle power.

    In the park I grab Musa, a voluntary guide. He shows me a great lunch place in the village. We do an evening game drive in my car and start at 6 in the morning for a breakfast game drive. Most secondary routes are mudded and not drivable but he shows me the primary routes which are in more or less good condition. Payment of these voluntary guides works just through tips. I like this concept! The campsite is in rather bad condition but directly at the beach.
    Read more