Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 18–19

    Pineapple overflow

    23 ноября 2023 г., Танзания ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    After a mud bath around Taweta – I was about to surrender if not a local had guided me through the mud – the road leads nicely smooth with sharp corners and steep slopes through bubbly hills. Beautiful landscape, even with a lot of freshly burned woodland, now featuring small farms. The soil looks very fertile indeed! Slowly my altimeter crawls from 300 to 1000 m. No traffic, not even motorcycles. A meditative drive.

    In places the dirt road is freshly graded which is comfortable as long as it stays dry. I get some very little rain which already suffices to turn it into a soapy undertaking. The car drifts constantly from side to side even in first gear and lowest speed. Bad combination with the steep slopes. I decide to continue tomorrow on hopefully drier surface.

    On top of a hill I ask young Octer if I might camp just next to the road at (t)his pineapple farm. Even better, he brings me to a farm house where his parents welcome me warmly! I am allowed to camp here and am invited for dinner.

    The next morning I am shown around by Meshack who runs the farm seasonally. He proudly tells me that these are all organic pineapples, grown without artificial pesticides or fertilizers. For private use they also grow super-tiny and tasty parachichi (avocado), some sugarcane, cassava and lemongrass. In a small valley down the hills he shows me the remaining natural forest where he always likes to go to free his mind. For my further journey I am gifted 3 juicy ananas and in turn I leave all my German chocolate behind 😃. Thanks!
    Читать далее