Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day tours from Quito

    June 18, 2023 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Went for a stroll around the city. Lady shouted 'Hey, Sinead O'Connor' and I shouted back, 'Who's asking?'....we got chatting. Her name is Maria, lived 22 years in California then was deported in a raid under Trump's regime, and she has been here on the streets every since.

    I went on a day tour to Cotapaxi National Park, 2nd highest volcano in Ecuador and still active. The micro-climate around the volcano was cold, below freezing, and WINDY as hell. And we were climbing to base camp. Haha none of us feckless tourists were prepared, inadequate clothing for starters. The altitude is suddenly very clear as my heat was racing, panting for breath and taking only the tiniest footsteps at a snail's pace. The challenge was not the distance or the steepness but not being accustomed to the low oxygen levels.

    Next day, I walked through the city early Sunday. It was beautiful, sun shining, no traffic and hardly any people. They have more traditional Sundays here. I went on a day tour to Quilitoa Lagoon in a volcano. Meet some fab people (tourists/backpackers from around the world). We stopped at an indigenous family home which is straw and mud and only got electricity 2 years ago. Guinea pigs here are quality meat, they are also used in cleansing rituals to identify someone's mental or physical ailments. The indigenous people have their own language called Quechua.

    Around the lagoon, you could descend (steep and slippery) and ascend on foot or horseback (altitude still an issue. Most people like myself stayed around the top and walked around.

    I chatted for about 20 minutes to an indigenous lady called Maria Rosalita who I met whilst sitting enjoying the view. We managed loosely to communicate and it was a really gentle moment. I offered her some water and she saw my scarf in my bag (which I use to cover my baldilocks). She reached in to my bag, admired my scarf, put it round her neck and told me it was a gift to her. Haha I said 'I need it' a few times, then relented and said 'keep it'. It was strange and funny at the same time.

    I feel like my trip has properly started :-)
    Read more