Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    What an amazing day!

    March 7, 2018 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    After having two days of doing very little Will and I were getting very itchy to get out and about so we went for an early breakfast packed up our bags with water snacks and swim stuff and did what we do best, trekking. We told the others we will be back in about an hour or so. First we trekked to a lighthouse which was about an hour from our dorm. It was so hot but so lovely to walk the length of the island and then through the jungle. Along the way we met a lovely guy called Valt who was planning on staying in his hammock on the otherside of the island, so we trekked together to the lighthouse. The view was so lovely, a full 360 of the island. We then trekked to military beach which was so lovely and untouched! The water was so deep and cooling with so many fish! We then dried off on the beach and were told by locals that we could walk to the next beach over which is then about 30 mins from our side of the island. So we decided to go for it. We did some more swimming in deep water, found some more interesting fish and then set up Wills hammock and read our books while waiting for sunset. At this point we realised we had told the guys we'd be back in an hour or so... we left at 10:30am and it was now 6:30pm, but there was no WiFi or signal at all so we headed back through the jungle in the dark back home. We planned to get back before 7pm so we could go on a glowing plankton boat trip but we didn't quite make it. Wups we had a couple of missed calls but we found them and had our well deserved shower.

    You've probably noticed that I've not mentioned food yet. Well I had a fruit plate for breakfast and we at a couple of oreos and peanuts along the way but thats it. We were starving when we got back!!! So we showered and headed to our lovely Khmer restaurant and ordered a chicken curry and green Papaya salad. The others wanted to go somewhere else so we went to meet them later at the bar.

    It was everyone else's last night so we all got beers and things escalated... Gosh where do I even start things started off quite calm happily drinking a couple of beers, then we had Joss shots, jaeger red bull and then more beers... For those that know me and caffeine and me don't really go well together... After doing 2 shots of Joss I was told each sachet is equivalent to drinking about 7 red bulls. Ah crap! Let's just say I was AWAKE! Then a couple of people said they were going to swim out to see the glowing plankton and as we hadn't seen it yet we got down to our underwear and jumped straight in as a really big group. It was incredible, I felt like tinkerbell! You just had to wave your hands the smallest bit and everything would glow green. It was so beautiful!! After a lot of midnight swimming in the sea we went to bed. What an incredible day, so much fun from start to finish. But I did not sleep a wink, I was so wide awake it was unbelievable. I even got up and did my washing early in the morning as I couldn't lie in bed any longer. When I got up I realised there was something seriously wrong with the bottom of my foot, I couldn't put any pressure on it. We thought I might have been stung by a jelly fish or stood on a sea urchin, but aren't quite sure.
    Read more