Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 9, Alvaiãzere to Alvorge

    April 9, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 75 °F

    Day 9 was a splendid day! We walked a short 14 miles to today’s destination in Alvorge. It was not as hot as it has been, and much of today’s walking was on rock wall-lined dirt trails. I don’t think we saw one car until mile 8. We weren’t sure any cafes would be open since today is Easter, so we were pleasantly surprised when we came upon a pastelaria (pastry shop) in the lovely town of Ansião. We met some new hikers today and enjoyed chatting with them, and the Albergue we’re staying in tonight is exceptional. One song that kept popping into my head today was,
    I see trees of green
    Red roses too
    I see them bloom
    For me and you
    And I think to myself
    What a wonderful world
    I see skies of blue
    And clouds of white
    The bright blessed day
    The dark sacred night
    And I think to myself
    What a wonderful world

    It truly is. Happy Easter, and thanks for following us along!
    Read more