Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 157

    Straddie

    December 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 81 °F

    N Stradbroke Island is a very well-known vacation spot in Australia, apparently.

    I'd never heard of it but ~3 hours after learning it exists, I was there. I impress myself, sometimes.

    When my flight to Cairns was cancelled for the 2nd (3rd?) time, I realized I wouldn't be diving the Great Barrier Reef. This makes me sad, but I'm vacationing in Australia so really ... In how much self-pity can I indulge? Not much.

    The very nice young lady at the front desk of my hostel is also a diver and in chatting about sub-aquatic activity she suggested Straddie as a solid alternative to the GBR. Not as much coral, not as great viz, but really pretty and sharks and rays and mantas. Ok. I can get stoked on that.

    I jumped the train from Brizzy to Cleveland, then a free bus to a ferry to a cheap bus that dropped me on the front steps of the Manta Dive Center (and hostel). On the way I called to confirm diving and lodging were available.

    Cell phones sure do make travel easier!

    After arrival I dove into the Western Pacific Ocean for my first time then set off to find dinner - delicious fish, chips, and calamari. Yum. I ate watching the sun go down and retired, tired, to get a good sleep before tomorrow's diving.
    Read more