Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Paying our respects

    November 3, 2022 in Belgium ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    The tradition here in Belgium is to visit loved ones who have passed away on 1 November, which is a public holiday here and known as “All Saints Day”. As we only returned from Denmark on 31/10 and because the cemeteries are so busy on 1/11 we decided to delay our visit by a couple of days.

    Brigitte’s parents, Wim Pleysier and Paulette Ollivier, as well as being my uncle and aunt were my godparents. They also, let me stay with them in Paris when I travelled in my twenties, they were wonderful people who I have some great memories of. They also gave me some wonderful experiences when I would visit. I got to stay with them in their apartment in Cannes and I went skiing in the Swiss Mountains, visited Geneva and many other beautiful cities with them over the years.

    They also opened their heart and home to Ian and Angus when we visited Belgium in 2001. Then again in 2008 we spent Christmas with Paulette and her family in Brussels which was wonderful. I then didn’t get the chance to visit until 2018, when I came to Brussels after Ian and Angus headed home after our European holiday. I stayed predominantly with Brigitte but spent my last few days with Paulette. Then in 2019 Ian and I spent another week in Brussels which turned out to be the final opportunity I would have to spend time with my dear and favourite aunt Paulette. Not long after we left Brussels she was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and passed away in early 2020.

    I am not one for cemeteries, but I have to say the one where Wim and Paulette are in Everberg is small and beautifully maintained.
    Read more