Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Fairly quiet relaxed day

    November 4, 2022 in Belgium ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    We had planned to take Emma and Sohan to Chocolate Nation in Antwerp today, however, poor Emma wasn’t well, in fact she started getting a sore throat on Thursday which was her birthday. With our excursion to Antwerp off we had a pretty lazy day, did a bit of reading and watching Netflix. Brigitte has introduced me to The 100 and although I enjoyed the first couple of seasons, the 3rd season is not doing it for me. It could be that I am watching it in French so that I can improve my language skills, but the storyline is getting more and more complicated which makes it much more difficult for me to keep up.

    As I said Sohan has been staying with us and we have done a few activities with him, but he seems most interested in playing on his Nintendo or tablet and gets grumpy when his grandmother suggests he is on it too much. We came to an impasse- all Brigitte wanted to do was discuss some boundaries, he shut down, got hysterical and wouldn’t talk. In the end his Dad came to get him mid-afternoon and I must say it was a relief when he left. Brigitte and I think he is addicted to playing on his screens and I think he will have a big adjustment to make when he returns to school next week.

    We decided we needed some air so we went for a lovely late afternoon walk to the forest that is at the end of Brigitte’s street. It was lovely to get out into the fresh air, we met loads of people walking their dogs which was nice. We just had a light dinner after I had been pigging out on these Paprika Bugles which are so moorish and delicious, I don’t think I have seen them in Oz which is probably good for me as I find it hard to stop eating them.

    After the dramas of the day we were both pretty tired and so we had an early night.
    Read more