Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    What the hell do I think I’m doing?

    September 13, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tsu

    I have started those first steps! This may not be a walking journey of a thousand miles, but it WILL be a bloody long walk!

    Currently in Toronto waiting for my next flight to Gatwick, UK, and then from Gatwick to Bilbao, ES. I have buses and accommodations booked for my first two nights. Then, I am going to strap on my backpack and walk for 730ish km. WHO AM I ACTUALLY KIDDING?? This however, is the plan.

    Let me explain something though….I may not do it. By that, I mean I may not walk every one of those 730+ km. And you know what? I am just going to have to learn to be ok with that.

    Overweight - I have gained back most of the weight I lost which will make this a huge challenge. I have no one to blame but myself. And I do. Daily. First goal of my Camino: learn to have some grace with myself and start loving myself for who and what I am - to myself and others.

    Back issues -I have a sore back at the moment and hoping I’m ok to carry my pack on this journey. Second goal of my Camino: It’s ok to have assistance to reach my goals - I can have my pack forwarded if I need to.

    Out of shape - along with the weight gain, I’ve gotten lazy again. I have been planning this Camino for over a year. Did I train? Hell no. Went for less than a dozen decent walks and only a few with my pack on. So what does that mean? Likely that I may need to take a bus or taxi every once in a while. Or every day, to keep myself on track. And I will need to learn to live with this too.

    Will I “fail”? Again, hell NO. It is not an option. I will get to Santiago and I WILL walk every last step of the last 100km from Sarria to Santiago, at the very least. Between Pamplona and Sarria is anyone’s guess as to what will happen. Whatever happens, I promise to provide an open an honest account of my journey (maybe too honest for some people lol!). The highs, the lows and the magic, if I am lucky enough to be a recipient of occasions of the “Camino provides”.

    Am I excited to be undertaking this most unusual (for me) journey? Yeppers! I am also a tiny bit terrified!

    There is no right or wrong way to do the Camino (although the purists would disagree strongly). We all do what we can, how we can and when we can.

    This is MY Camino. I will do it MY way - whatever that turns out to be.

    Thanks for following along!!
    Read more