Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Tomorrow is the day!

    September 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    “Home is behind, the world ahead.” - J. R. R. Tolkien

    Well, I made it safe and sound to Spain last night. Finally got to my Albergue at 9:30pm after 3 flights, 2 buses and a total of 23 1/2 hrs since I left home.

    Today I needed to get to Pamplona, my start point. I start walking tomorrow. No idea how far I will make it - the ideal is approx 25 km but the reality I am sure, will be less.

    Pamplona is a lovely city (as far as cities go). I was able to check in to my Albergue - Casa Ibarrola then went in search of new set of poles, and a small pocket knife. Saw the Cathedral de Santa Maria (stunning) and had a tour of the famous Plaza de Tores de Pamplona (where the bullfights happen and the running of the bulls ends, during the festival of St Fermin). Had dinner on the Central Plaza and indulged in one of the best burgers I have ever had! Huge homemade patty, slab of goat cheese, bacon, caramelized onions, lettuce and tomato. And of course a 2€ glass of wine. I think I am going to enjoy Spain :-)
    Read more