Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 1 done - and it didn’t kill me!

    September 16, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    “Defeat is always momentary.” – Peter Jackson

    Day 1 - Pamplona to Uterga -17.5 km

    This quote is the story of my day. I honestly wasn’t sure if I was going to make it to Alto del Padron - where the iconic steel pilgrim statues are, and 14km from my albergue in Pamplona. There was an elevation gain of “only” 330 feet, but I was terrified I wouldn’t be able to make it. I did, but think I had suffered a bit of dehydration on the way. I rested and chatted to a lady named Sue from the US and when I went to stand and continue, I really didn’t feel well! Another 10mins, some water and beef jerky later, I was good to go. Made it to the top and had a little break to video chat with family.

    From there, it was 1.2km downhill on rather dodgy loose rocks which really stresses the joints. A further 2km brought me to Urtega. I had not planned to stop here, but the albergues for the next two towns were full. I ended up getting the last room available, which I am sharing with two young German women - both young enough to be my daughters.

    Daily routine has started of quick shower to wash the trail dust off, hand wash laundry and chill out!! Lovely dinner at the albergue and an early night for this pilgrim! Tomorrow is a new day and it’s mostly downhill - so hopefully a bit easier than today!
    Read more