Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 4 - New day, new attitude

    September 19, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    “Forward is forward” - Perigrino Lisa, from Sweden

    Day 4 -Villamayor de Monjardin to Sansol - 19.1 km

    Today was a much better day. Out today before the sun was up, I left the Albergue at 7:20am. The trail was mostly flat once I went downhill from Villamayor de Monjardin, with some inclines which were much more manageable.

    Part way to the next tow - Los Arcos, another perigrino (female pilgrim) pulled up beside me. We chatted for a bit and when I commented about how slow I was, she said “forward is forward” and then strides away. I mulled this over for a bit - because what else do I have to do while walking alone. And I came to realize she is right. I may be slow, but I am moving forward all the time. This helped the kms click by this morning.

    As the way was mostly flat, I was actually making good time and was happy with my progress, for a change. After 12.2 km (no breaks, unlike yesterday!), I arrived in Los Arcos. I headed to the main square where a bar was open for breakfast. Sat down with a lovely roll, large o.j (which I never drink) and a tea. Rested the foot - which is really the worst thing I can do - and just enjoyed my surroundings. I decided that although only a short day, I would like to stay and wander this town as it is larger than most I have stayed in. As I was looking for an Albergue, Lisa - the perigrino I had spoken to on the trail - came to the plaza without her pack. We chatted a while and she told me the Municpal Albergue opened at 12 and rooms were only 8€. My kind of deal!! So, I hot-footed it over to add my pack to the growing line of backpacks awaiting the opening of the Albergue. As I sat there tending to my ankle, more and more 20 somethings arrived. Lots of greetings like long lost friends. Laughter. Loud talking. This old broad decided she wasn’t in the mood for a party tonight and called to find a bed in the next town, Sansol. I got one on my first enquiry and decided I would walk the additional 6.9 km after all. It had been my original goal but Los Arcos was such a pretty town I had decided to stay. Plans change in a dime, here on the Camino!

    At 11:20 I headed off to Sansol. Before I got my socks and shoes back on though, I saw Nancy and Dave from Washington State. I have seen them every day and have ended up in the same Albergues 2 nights already. Really nice couple who are travelling with their son Louie. Nancy homeschools him and what better way to learn than with life experiences! Louie is always way ahead. Kid passed me before Los Arcos today and then started running ahead. Running. Crazy! Anyway, they went ahead but I caught up to them somewhere around 4km to Sansol. We walked most of the way into town together and I tell you, it was a scorcher. Nancy gave me a package of electrolytes for adding to my water and I promised to give one back when we reached town. I was SO very grateful for those at that time. I had some, but didn’t want to take my pack off to get them since I forgotten to put them in my handbag this morning. Nancy totally saved me!

    We eventually made town but they were way ahead of me at this point due to the long slow hill into town. Have I mentioned I am not good on hills?? I arrived at my Albergue to see Louie already there and Nancy and Dave coming around the corner. I had no idea we were staying at the same place, and they were a bit curious as to how I beat them there hahaha. I took the shorter route - plain and simple!

    No drier here, so hoping I can do my laundry in Logroño tomorrow as it is an actual city and not a small town like the other places I have stopped.

    Before dinner, headed to a bar at another Albergue as they were the only place in town that was open. Everyone else was still closed for siesta. Enjoyed the shaded patio with a large G&T then went back to my “room”. Albergue owner is quite miserable and I feel like we are putting him out and interrupting his plans for the day.

    Dinner at the Albergue tonight was fantastic, despite the owner pretty much accusing us of stealing cutlery and glasses! Huge salad, bread, pasta carbonara and a custard style dessert. Great food and new friends. Perfect way to end my day!
    Read more