Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 5 - “Rest day”

    September 20, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    “There are plenty of difficult obstacles in your path. Don't allow yourself to become one of them." - Ralph Marston.

    Day 5 - Sansol to Logroño by bus

    Today’s walk is called the “knee wrecker” due to the steep inclines and declines, and the many, many hills and valleys. Uuummm, no thank you. I took the bus just after 8 am and was to Logroño before 9. By 11 I had secured a private room (with its own bathroom) and left my bag at the pension while I went out to explore.

    Logroño is celebrating - Fiesta de San Mateo - all week. Now that’s a party! The day kicked off with a band and food tastings in the plaza. The line ups were crazy! One Pintxos or tapas for 3€, with a personal sized bottle of local wine. Such a good deal, I braved the lines to try two different ones - a chicken skewer at one and then bread with thinly sliced pork belly strip and homemade sausage. Both were excellent, and the wine was good too!

    Other than wander out a few times in the day, I did nothing. Felt a bit guilty as everyone else I know were slogging it out - particularly between Sansol and Viana. Got my laundry washed and dried at the Pension, Met up with Sabrina who gave me the necklace they had picked up for me. Tried and failed to book a physiotherapist to check on my ankle and no appointments tomorrow as it’s a national holiday. So, not sure what to do.

    Decided to head out to Calle de Laurel which is a street known for tapas bars (along with the surrounding streets). The place was hopping! Everyone is in party mode and they don’t have to work tomorrow. The streets were filled - and not one mask was to be seen. I tried 3 items and had 2 glasses of wine. First was an asparagus with ham and cheese tapas. Next was a charcoal grilled chicken skewer like this afternoon. Saved the best for last. A tapas sized roll with grilled Iberian pork, Brie and a secret sauce - some kind of garlic oil I think. I had to order again as it was freaking amazing!

    I knew Dave and Nancy were planning on hitting up the street too, so I messaged to let them know about this place. Within a minute of ordering again, they were there. They had already been roaming the street. Perfect timing! They ordered their beers and tapas and we just hung out, charred and people watched. What an amazing evening, full of good company, good vibes and zest for life!

    I have pretty much decided to walk to Navarette tomorrow. It’s only 13.1 km. But it is also mostly uphill. Can’t say it will be a fun day, but I will give it a go. What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger, right?

    Now if only the people’s tv in the room adjoining mine wasn’t right by my ear, I might be able to get some sleep!
    Read more