Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day 12 - One foot in front of the other

    September 27, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    "Stay strong as you live your life story and remember your blessings, no matter what circumstances you face." - Dr. Damary M. Bonilla-Rodriguez

    Day 12 - Burgos to Rabé de las Calzadas - 12.8 km

    Finally! I was able to have physio this morning and play stump the Physiotherapist. First you need to understand that I have weird feet. I have huge big toes and osteoarthritis in the joints of them. My toes do not bend back like most people’s toes do, and I have had tow issues when I walk, for most of my life. When I arrived, “Carlos” watched me walk and right away could see that I was pronating and quite badly on my right side. We went over what I was experiencing and he watched me walk again, but barefoot. I explained about my shoes and why I chose them (zero heel drop = no toe issues for me!!) and he seemed impressed that I not only recognized that but that it is working well for me - for toe issues. What isn’t working is how badly I am pronating. After pushing and prodding, pulling and twisting, he thinks I have a compression issue resulting in soft tissue damage and some ligament irritation. He worked the foot for quite a while and then had me walk again. He is shocked that I have learned to walk without using my toes at all. Uummm ok. I didn’t know I did that but yay me?! He gave me a soft silicone thing that has a raised egg shaped portion to it. I wear this on my foot to help with the probation and hopefully help with the compression issue. I am to try this for 3 days and call back to let him know if it has had any positive effect. Day 1 - pain seems to have moved more to where he shows me the ligament is… not sure it is helping but will stay open minded until the end of day 3. I told him if my plan to do 3 short days and he said that was the best way - and to send my pack ahead so I did not put unnecessary stress on my feet /joints. All well and good, but I didn’t do it today (has to be booked the night before), but I have booked for tomorrow.

    Today is another gratitude day:
    • Had the long sought after physio appointment
    • Walked about 13 km to this lovely little village
    • Had a hot shower!! (bliss when there is hot water!)
    • Enjoyed a glass of wine and tapas (chorizo sausage and a hard boiled egg) at a bar and sat chatting with 3 Americans for over an hour
    • Clothes getting an actual laundry wash and dry - being done for me, not by me
    • Homemade food and the chance to connect with fellow pilgrims
    • Not only got a bottom bunk, but having a room of 8 to myself!!

    I love just wandering when I get to places like this. Just discovering the town I am in, relaxing and just “being”. This town is super pretty and very well cared for. Lots of flowers in window baskets, old stone buildings and a great little bar!

    Great pilgrims dinner of homemade saffron soup with noodles, mixed salad, tortilla (Spanish potato pie almost) and yogurt for dessert. At the table we had a couple from Munich, German who walked out their front door on 8 June - and are still walking, a man from Florida who is on his 7th Camino (various routes - this one twice), a man from Indiana who sounds just like my Uncle Len, a lady from Illinois that had biked a portion of the Camino but is now walking, a lady from Ste Clair, Quebec and another from Toronto, currently living in Montreal.

    Onward tomorrow, to a small eco Albergue in the middle of nowhere. Should be interesting.
    Read more