Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day 11 - Things to do and people to see

    September 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    “There are times in life when, instead of complaining, you do something about your complaints.” - Rita Dove

    Day 11 - Burgos - approx 12km around the city

    Fairly successful day, in other ways than walking:
    • I was able to make a physio appointment for tomorrow at 10am, so happy to stay for that.
    • I got some warmer clothing including a jacket, which will be much needed in the days and weeks to come.
    • Had tapas and wine with a lovely lady named Monica that I have met before
    • Went up to the Castello Burgos - the highest point of the city and a great outlook point
    • Sorted out my next stages and have beds for the next 3 nights (I hate having to book ahead!)
    • Attended Pilgrim Mass at the Burgos Cathedral
    • Caught up with other pilgrims that are in the city, that I have seen throughout my journey so far

    This was a great rest day - if you can call still walking 12km a rest day. It was a cool but sunny day and a great day for exploring the city centre. I love the wide plazas and pedestrianized areas. We really should have more of these in Canada. The buildings are all so old and generally in this area of the city, well kept. Unlike the villages I pass through, there are very few abandoned looking buildings. Again, in this area at least, as I have not ventured very far.

    The old Castello was interesting. The rampart walls are still standing and look like quite a feat of engineering. First layer is 2.3m thick!! I loved the overview of the city from up there!

    This evening was a mass and pilgrim blessing at the cathedral. I am not catholic and did not understand a word other than Pilgrim and Buen Camino, but it was a beautiful chapel and service. As a pilgrim, I feel this has to be experienced at least once. I know I will also attend the pilgrim mass in Santiago, if and when I make it there.

    Although no steps were taken on my Camino today, I F eel like I have gotten a lot accomplished and I am ready for tomorrow. After my appointment, the plan is to have a short walking day - 12km or so, just so I get back into the swing of things.

    Here’s hoping tomorrow is a great day!
    Read more