Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 18 - It’s all about the food!

    October 3, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    “Food may be essential as fuel for the body, but good food is fuel for the soul” - Malcom Forbes

    Day 18 - Rest day in Carrión de Los Condes.

    Some days on the Camino it’s all about the walking, the planning, or the albergues. Some days it’s all about the people you meet, the scenery you pass or your aches and pains. And some days, its all about the food. Today, it was all about the food!!

    Meals on the Camino can be pretty same, same but different. You can of course choose what you eat and where, but a lot of pilgrims meals - either at the albergues or in bars as the Menu Del Dia (meal of the day) are very similar. Day in and day out. Soup, pasta or mixed salad to start (generally, lettuce, tomato, tinned corn, carrot and tuna - with some variations). Second plate is thin pork slices, chicken, sometimes fish, sometimes beef, sometimes a burger. Always bread - served with fries or rice, and yogurt or ice cream for dessert. This is typical. Sometimes you get an outstanding meal, and I have had a few. However, there is a distinct lack of fresh veggies. Rice, potatoes, breads and pastas are stars of the show. Although no longer Keto at the moment, I still don’t do a lot of carbs - not those kind, anyway. As this was a rest day and we had no plans, Carolyn, Jenny and I planned a bit of a feast day.

    We all slept in today, as we had nowhere to go and no one waking us up at 5am! Yesterday we shopped and got our breakfast items: fresh eggs, bacon, tomato and bread (for them). Carolyn did most of the cooking and cooked us up the best breakfast I have had in weeks. We ate in the lovely solarium style dining area of our Albergue with the windows open and the sun shining. It was delicious and we were all replete, with very happy tummies after the meal.

    We mooched around town for a bit in the late morning, but a lot of stores are still shut on Mondays. I needed a new headlamp and a wrist brace, as my carpel tunnel has decided to act up too. Likely due to using my poles all the time. Jenny needed some items at the farmacia and we all wanted to get the dinner groceries. Once the shopping was done, it was time to relax for a bit - it was a strenuous morning 😂.

    I went for a stroll to the momentary as it is supposed to be stunning. I should do a bit more research - it closes at 2 (duh - everything does and it was 2:30pm) but, close all day on Mondays. Oh well. I needed to get more steps in for the day and the 1.5km didn’t hurt me.

    Late afternoon Carolyn and I went to our “local” across the narrow road from our Albergue. We sat and chatted with our now favourite Vino Rosada and I even ate a couple of fresh local olives. I generally hate olives, but these weren’t that bad at all. Nancy, Dave and Louie had made town earlier and came to join us for a drink and chat. It’s so great to see them! Jenny finally came down to complete the table and we had a lovely time telling all our Camino tales.

    Eventually, Jenny excused herself and then Carolyn. As I was saying goodbye to Nancy and Dave, Jenny was calling me to “tea”. Up I went to find this incredible spread that Jenny had prepared. I felt bad that I had not been lending a hand, but it was a bit late for that. We had the most incredible salad plates full of fresh veggies, eggs, meats and fish. Simply amazing! Again, full and happy tummies were had by all.

    I was hoping to grab some gazpacho at a local shop, but never got there. Instead, I hit up an old fashioned hardware store that had a bit of everything. I was able to pick up two lightweight containers (so now I can carry a repeat and smaller version of tonight’s salad, for lunch tomorrow) and finally, a headlamp for a third of the cost of the pilgrim store just down the road from it!

    A totally lazy day, which was much needed by all of us. Great company, great food and great wine. All in all, a successful day!! Only problem is, as I have been lazy today, I just know I won’t be wanting to head out into the cold morning tomorrow at 7am for a 23 km walk to our next destination. The only thing saving that walk is that I will be walking with Dave and Nancy - and maybe Louie if he doesn’t run ahead. Wish us luck!!
    Read more